Our vision is to connect, engage, and inspire all students in the Ayer Shirley Regional School District to reach academic excellence. We, the educators of the Ayer Shirley Regional School District, will instill habits of reflection and inquiry to challenge our students in setting ambitious academic and personal goals. Students will develop a strong voice to express thoughts and ideas in the community and the confidence to showcase their talents and successes in preparation for entry into college and the world of work.

Click on image for Athletic Schedules for ALL Sports!
ss.PNG

Basketball raises money and brings cards to Carly

The girls basketball team led a school-wide effort for create Christmas cards for Carly Silva, a 12-year-old Weymouth hockey player who has been recently diagnosed with cancer and would love to receive some Christmas cards. She will be undergoing treatment for the next two years and spent her Christmas at Children's Hospital. 

Students throughout the high school created Christmas cards during Panther Block, and fans from Ayer Shirley and Littleton created cards during the dual varsity games on Dec. 21. AD Steve Kendall also directed a 50/50 raffle that raised $111, which the athletic department matched, to go towards Carly's Go Fund Me page

Coach Pete Page hand-delivered the cards to Carly and her mom on Saturday, December 22. Check out the video the team made:

 

Carly_1.jpg

 

Carly Silva has been diagnosed with cancer and will be going through treatment for the next two years. She’ll be spending her Christmas at Boston Children’s Hospital.

After she wasn’t feeling like herself, doctors determined that Carly has a large malignant tumor pressing on major blood vessels leading into her heart.

Co-op Swim Team Off to Fast Start

by Amy Gothorpe
The Bromfield Ayer Shirley Littleton girls swim team has begun its 2018-2019 season with an undefeated record (4-0), and the Trojan boys are close behind with a 3-1 mark.

 

The season began at the Worcester JCC on Dec. 7 against league opponent Wachusett Regional High School.  With top swimmers Izzy Conners, Ella Church, Emily Brown, Madi Drew, and Catherine Zhou, the Trojan girls clinched the 200-yard medley relay and 400-yard freestyle relay, while posting Division 1 state qualifying times of 2:00.88 minutes and 4:03.66, respectively. The girls’ final score was 101-69.

 

On the boys’ side, junior Captain Christopher Clark captured the win in the 100-yard backstroke with an impressive sectionals qualifying time of 1:02.78, aiding the team to a final winning score of 88-79.

 

With determination and dedication, the team ventured to Tyngsboro Dec. 12 to defeat both Tyngsboro-Groton-Dunstable boys and girls teams. Eighth-grader Lily Tonole completed her first six dives of the season, winning her event with a score of 193.95, helping the Trojan girls to victory with a final score of 101-79.  The boys sealed the tight meet with a score of 94-84. Junior Dwight Childers shined in his 500-yard freestyle with a fast time of 5:12.38 and junior Anthony Mavilia crushed the 50-yard freestyle with a personal record of 26.91.

 

On Friday, December 14 the Trojans traveled to Clark University to face the Shrewsbury Colonials, continuing their teamwork and perseverance in every race and ultimately defeating both the girls and boys teams—113-70 for the girls and 110-61 for the boys. Senior Sam Tonole posted a new school boys diving record with a score of 289.12.  Senior Captain Mia Hopman used her endurance and smarts to attack at the end of her 500-yard freestyle event and capture first place with a league qualifying time of 6:16.49.

 

Monday night brought more success for the girls team, which surged past Leominster 102-68.  Senior Emily Brown took first place again in her 100-yard butterfly, while Abby Boissy just out-touched her opponent for second place in the 50-yard freestyle. The boys team faced some worthy competition, fighting hard each race.  Relay team members Christopher Clark, Derek Ng, Anthony Mavilia, and Dwight Childers easily captured first in the 200-medley relay with a sectionals qualifying time of 1:59.28. The boys meet was a true competition in every event but ultimately Leominster grabbed the win 90-79.
 
The girls are now first in the Mid-Wach League; the boys are fourth. The teams travel to Clark University on Thursday, December 20, at 4 p.m. to face non-league opponent Advanced Math and Science Academy Charter School.

 

Amy Gothorpe is the Bromfield swimming team coach

 

Winter Coaches and Info

Indoor track

Coaches -- Mike Seguin (mseguin@asrsd.org) and Chris Donovan (cdonovan@asrsd.org)

Practices -- 2:45 to 4:30 Monday to Friday

HS boys basketball

Head coach -- Eric Polli (ericpolli@yahoo.com)

Assistant coaches -- Jim Lamb and Matt Brewer

Practices -- 5:45 to 7:45 p.m. M W F; 3:45 to 5:45 T and R. Sundays TBA

HS girls basketball

Head coach -- Pete Page (ppage@asrsd.org)

Assistant coaches -- Steve and Mike Belanger

Practices -- 3:45 to 5:45 p.m. M W F; 5:45 to 7:45 T and R. Sundays TBA

Middle school basketball

Girls coach -- Terri Rollins (trollins@asrsd.org)

Boys coach -- Brian Maver (bmaver@asrsd.org)

Practices -- M to F 2:30 to 4 (Girls tryouts start 11/26; Boys tryouts start 12/3)

Middle school cheer

Coach -- Veronica Maki (veronicamaki91@gmail.com)

Tryouts -- 11/26 6 to 8 p.m.; 11/27 3 to 5 p.m., 11/29 3 to 5 p.m.

All game schedules are available on the Athletics website

 

 

 

 

 

Fall banquet

The fall athletic banquet, sponsored by the ASRHS athletic boosters, is Tuesday, December 4 at 6 p.m. at the high school. All high school team members and their families are invited to join us for dinner and awards. Please plan on attending the entire banquet, as all teams deserve everyone's recognition!

Fall All-Stars

Congratulations to the football team, which was named the 2018 recipient of the Robert P. Maliska sportsmanship award. The team leaders and Coach Marchegiani will be honored at the North Central Mass. Football Officials banquet on Sunday, Nov. 18.

Congrats to Elise Fredericks and Raiven Quirk for their participation in the Mid-Wach all-star game on November 15 at North Middlesex!

Fayad Bashir was named boys soccer MVP of the Mid-Wach E League. Nick Granger, Davis Preston and Ariel Velasquez were named to the all-star team. On the girls' side, Erin Norton, Brooklynne Arno-Mitchell, Hannah Justice and Allie Houde earned all-star status.

Will Schlip, Dana Maloney and Caleb Callaluca earned boys cross country all-star nods, with Will and Dana earning spots at the state meet on Saturday, Nov. 17 at Stanley Park in Westfield. The girls placed six on the all-star team, including Mairead Hanley, Katie Cadogan, Hayley Sheriff, Mackenzie Marshall, Emily Russell, Zineb Majoudou.

Bryce Valliere was ASRHS' golf all-star for the season, as he qualified for the district meet.

Congrats to all!

Mid-Wach Relays

The boys and girls cross country teams competed at the Mid-Wach Relays on Saturday, September 15th. The girls team of Mackenzie Marshall, Katie Cadogan and Hayley Sheriff finished fourth in their race, and the co-ed team of Mairead Hanley, Dana Maloney, Emily Russell and Will Schilp won their race.  

Image-1.png

FullSizeRender.jpg

 
Fall Coaches:
Any students interested in playing a fall sport should contact athletic director Steve Kendall at skendall@asrsd.org. and/or the following coaches:

Football: Phil Marchegiani at pmarchegiani@asrsd.org
Boys Varsity Soccer: Mark Giusto at mgiusto@asrsd.org
Boys JV Soccer: Ryan Goodman
Girls Varsity Soccer: Justin Carlson at jcarlson@asrsd.org
Girls JV Soccer: Siobhan Pierce at spierce@asrsd.org
Cross country: Chris Donovan or Mike Seguin at cdonovan@asrsd.org or mseguin@asrsd.org
Girls Varsity Volleyball: Lindsay Dellechiaie at ldellechiaie@asrsd.org
Girls JV Volleyball: Allison Fillebrown at afillebrown@asrsd.org
Golf: Pete Gubellini at pgubellini@asrsd.org
Cheerleading Coach:  Veronica Maki at veronicamaki91@gmail.com
 
Middle school students may register for cross country, volleyball and golf, while 8th grade students may register for boys' soccer and football.
 
Middle School Boys Soccer: Greg Maynard at gmaynard@asrsd.org
Middle School Girls Soccer: Hannah Levensailor at hlevensailor@asrsd.org
Steve Kendall
Steve Kendall
Athletic Director
ASRSD

Details
(978) 772-8600 ext.1370

2018 Ayer Shirley Regional High School Athletic Hall of Fame Website
hof.PNG

141 Washington Street | Phone: 978-772-8600
1 Hospital Rd | Phone: (978) 772-8600
115 Washington Street | Phone: (978) 772-8600
34 Lancaster Road | Phone: (978) 772-8600